2001-08-01 / 8:21 p.m.

~Lots of little things~

Must - stop - looking - at - site - meter - stats..........

These Google searches are bugging the crap out of me. Someone looked for "gourmet takeout food" and ended up reading a page of my diary. Maybe it's the catchy title: WhatTheFuckRULookinAt. Maybe. Maybe it's boredom on their part, these searchers, or curiosity. Or just that great word, fuck.

I talked to my old supervisor today, not the current one, who is not only young, very young, but also out of town, but the one I used to have to obey, who is a bit older than myself, and with whom I can now relate much easier due to the fact that she is no longer boss of me. She's pretty cool, I always thought so. But, she asked what I've been up to, and this is all I could think to say, "Uh, I've been working. Yeah, that's about it. Oh, and going home, and watching TV, and I'm on the internet....a lot." I didn't dare tell her where I go on this internet, oh no. But when I said it, she rolled her eyes and said, "Yeah, me too!"

I knew she was a junkie. We used to have 'net access at all the cubicles, until they realized we were enjoying ourselves at work and said, hey, that's SO not what we are paying you for! No enjoyment! Enjoyment = Bad. Remove those modems, now! Okay, so we're on a LAN, but still. That T1 connection was so fucking awesome....I'd be online all day, so when I got home I didn't even use my own computer. Thing was though.....she was on her computer all the time too, on the 'net, and now she has her own private office, and she's on the 'net there, I know, I've seen her.

Anyway......so, I ask her what's her favorite site, where does she go the most, and she says, "Oh, Google. I do lots of searches", and I'm panicking, because it seems that lately anyone who enters any words at all in Google comes up with my diary, and I know if she reads it at all, she'll know it's me, instantly, and I will be fucked. Royally.

But she's looking for something else, which I will not mention, for if I do...well, she'll do a search and end up on this page!

Too funny.

I asked Linda to stop humming. Oh, it was really hard, I was shaking, I just knew it was bad, confrontations are bad, but I was going out of my mind, turned up my radio trying to drown her out and it still didn't work. So, I tried so hard to be nice, said, "I can't think of any nice way to say this, and I don't want to be rude, and I know you're enjoying yourself, but I've turned up my radio and I can still hear you humming, is there any way at all you could stop? Oh, and does my radio bother you? If it ever does, please, please tell me, okay????", and she said, "I'm driving you crazy, I know it, I thought I was being quiet....I thought I was being quiet, I was trying to be quiet."

Whew. I suggested she get a radio. She said she is going to. Then we can discuss the volume on her radio - she will no doubt listen to Gospel or R&B, both of which I somewhat detest.

Ah, I love my job, I love my job, I love my job.

I was going to get the free weekly today, hoping that today will be the day my future job will be posted in their classifieds, but it wasn't delivered to the liquor store near my apt. yet. Damn.

What else? I thought MTV's 20th anniversary celebration would be good, but so far it's lame as hell. I don't even want to watch. But, I will, in a minute or two, just to see if it gets any better.

Twenty years ago I moved in with my boyfriend in a little college town, and I don't think he wanted me to. He was there, I said, hey, wouldn't it be great if we were together? We could LIVE together! Uh, sure, he said. It was stormy, and maybe we shouldn't have done it, but it was fun too.

I don't remember MTV back then. I remember hooking a line to our upstairs neighbor's cable and getting Showtime, and there was this aerobics show on there that was really erotic. Arthur and I used to watch it. MTV? I remember it from a couple years after that. That Herbie Hancock video, Madonna, Michael Jackson, and big hair bands. And I hated most of that music, pop music. I was into New Wave - stuff like Lene Lovich, Kraftwerk, the B-52s.....then Kate Bush and World Party, and I would go and buy records on Wednesday at Turtle's - double stamp day. Yeah, savings stamps. Fill up a book and get $5 off, and at the time records were like $7 or something. Vinyl.

I'm rambling, I know.

I feel a lot better today, especially since I finally asked Linda to stop. Seriously, this had been going on for weeks, daily. This horrible high pitched sing song humming thing, really, it was enough to make me want to kill someone. Now, it's over, I hope, and a weight has been lifted.

Doesn't take much to make me happy.

Oh, something else, I bought some pre-made Tabouli at the store tonight, and it sucks! Too much lemon. It's horrible, really. I was eating it thinking, this is horrible, then I'd take another bite, waiting for it to get better, I guess. (Oh, now someone will read this while searching for a Tabouli recipe!). I have a great Tabouli recipe though, from a Vegetarian Gourmet magazine. It's got tofu in it, and I LOVE tofu. Also black olives, green onions, lots of parsley and mint, tomatoes of course. Which makes me think this store bought stuff has too much green, not enough bulghur. Bulghur is actually pretty good, kinda nutty. Oh well, I was hungry and wanted something quick and healthy.

I'm out, I've rambled long enough, and I really had nothing to say at all. Amazing.

*I almost forgot - I finally got my long distance bill today. The phone call to Steve, the 7 1/2 hour phone call, is costing me $49.65. I was tempted to write to him to tell him, but I think I'll just pay it and keep quiet. He'll be getting his own bills for the calls he made to me. But still....it's been two months since that night, almost, and I was beginning to think it wasn't long distance after all, that I wouldn't be billed for it. La de da.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee