2001-11-16 / 11:34 p.m.

~Ripples and Wrinkles~

So, they shut down the busiest airport in the world, yeah, the entire world, because a guy ran DOWN an up escalator. Yeah. No shit. Oh, that's what I read online on my break at work, but Lulu was so fucking all over it, "They shut down Hartsfield! My brother's on a plane, he's there, they shut it down, someone has a gun, he's running, they can't find him, my brother's there", yada, yada, yada, all alarmist, as she is wont to be, not unlike me, when I mentioned the anthrax report weeks ago...remember? The Daschle office fiasco, the letter that shut down Congress? Yeah, she shut me up. Didn't want to hear it. Stop, 'talk to the hand' time.

But now, she can rush in and shout "The sky is falling, the sky is falling" and sometimes I think she wants it to be falling. Oh, she goes on and on, and fucking on and on some more about how this guy is in cahoots with some other guy, one is a shill, or something, and one is there to distract while the other terrorizes the air. Gets on a plane, bombs the whole place, whatever. And I just want to say, "Shut the hell up, Chicken Little!".

I read online, the AP newswire, the guy was going down an up escalator. I go back and tell her, and she has her distraction theory. There were two, no doubt, this is how terrorists do it. Everything is the end of the world, and I'm saying what a stupid error it was. Shut the whole place down for what, like 4 hours? For going the wrong way on an escalator?

Yeah, so I'm trying to find out what happened with the police and the helicopter, and the smoking car waiting for me when I got home tonight, watching the 11:00 news just now, and the guy, Mr. I Can Ride the Escalators However I So Choose, confessed. He made a call, said, "Uh, yeah, that was me, am I in trouble, hehe, hehe", sort of Beavis-y. And they said, hell yeah, dude, you fucked us all up! Misplaced like 10,000 people locally, thousands of people all across the country who have now missed their connecting flights.

Come on, people! We used to go the wrong way on the escalators when I was a kid, is it now a crime? He'd already gone through security, ran back the other way, wrong gate or something, so he went on the wrong escalator, so he's a trendsetter, he bucks convention, is this a problem? Is it now wrong to walk on the left side of a walkway as well? Stay on the right or you die! Keep one step between you and the person in front of you on the damned escalator or we will shoot you! We have videotape, we can SEE you, BIG BROTHER has eyes everywhere!

Jesus Fucking Christ, okay?!

Man, yeah, I had to write about this, it is insane. And now they want to charge the guy, on his way to a stupid college football game, in Florida or someplace, I don't know, with 2 misdemeanor counts of some shit, and federal charges. Federal charges? Of what? Endangerment?

What is this world coming to? This is so crazy. Okay, okay. Moving on.

Thrashers tied. They cannot win. 8 straight losses, now a tie, at home. Well, it looked like a good game, all two or so minutes I saw. Maybe 1.8 minutes. 4-4 tie. That's a lot of standing and cheering. A lot of dancing around, beer in one hand, one hand free to pound the glass. Why do men do that? Don't they know how stupid they look? So, we didn't lose. Big hairy deal.

I went back and read a bunch of my diary a little while ago, when I was supposed to be watching the game. I put me on "ignore" in my site meter stats, and read away. Interesting, very interesting. If I do say so myself. But, I think the font is hard to read on the background if you're reading a lot of it. Any font is hard to read if there's a lot of it though, on a video display terminal. Yes? Still (I write "so", "yeah", "right" and "still" a lot - very conversational, very informal, very stupid), it wasn't bad, I mean, I could see me being interested in reading my diary, if I didn't know me. If I wasn't me. And the stuff I wrote when I was really low, wow, well, if you're just reading it it doesn't seem that low. I mean, if you're not me, living it, it loses its punch.

I'm losing my punch. Two long entries in one night! Bonus!

Um, here's a little exchange Lulu and I had yesterday. Very interesting. Wait, was it today?? No, yesterday. Right. Here's some background first...I recently discovered some wrinkles under my left eye. Permanent, not just when I squinch. They're there to stay. Or here. Yes, they're hard to see, if you're not me, or if you're not really close to me, in my face. So, I freaked out one day, told the gals at work, well, maybe just Lulu, and Lulu suggested some eye cream she uses, and L. was trying to find Avon products for me, and finally, a day or two or three went by and I stopped caring. I forgot to dwell on it.

Yesterday Lulu brought in her tube of the under eye cream stuff, and turns out it's for dark circles, not wrinkles, and I say, "Oh, that's for dark circles, I don't have dark circles, I have this fine web of little wrinkles under this eye", and she says, "Well, you can't even really see it you know" and I say, "Well, you can if you get close to me, but no one gets close to me", and she says, "Do you ever let anyone get close to you?", and I say, "I would, but no one ever tries, if they tried I would let them, I am an open book", and yeah, you guessed it, it was a metaphor conversation.

Aren't those fun? Fun with metaphors! Wheeeeee!!

But it was so quick, so spontaneous, so unexpected. It was over as quickly as it began. Sort of a ba dump bump! kind of thing. Hard to type that sound, but you know what I mean. And L. overheard and started to laugh, sort of an "Oh, there they go again, isn't it funny?" kind of laugh, and I went to lunch. But I thought, hmmmm.....Lulu thinks I won't let anyone get close. I just want someone to try. No one tries. Don't you want a challenge? Should everything be so easy?

But we were talking about visible fine lines. Not panty lines, under eye lines. And how close you have to be to see them...right? Isn't that what we were talking about?

And running down up escalators when you're in a hurry, and not stopping to hear the security guard call after you, not knowing the ripples emanating from you just keep going and going and going, rippling all the way across the country.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee