2001-11-30 / 11:55 a.m.

~Sentimental Attachments, and Birthday Giving~

I flipped my calendars at work to December today. I am really going to miss my Gashleycrumb Tinies calendar � for December we have �Y is for YORICK whose head was knocked in� and �Z is for ZILLAH who drank too much gin.� I love it. Edward Gorey was a strange genius.

D.�s birthday celebration is going well so far. I gave her the Susan Branch calendar I got at Wal Mart last night, and she loves it! She is going to hang it in her kitchen and not write on it because it is too pretty. She will vow to make each month�s recipe before turning the page. She is not hard to please, and that�s my favorite kind of person to give to. Someone who appreciates the little things, who is blown away just from the idea of receiving. I love that about her. On that same note, I gave Lulu a miniature Altoids tin. Again, Wal Mart, they had them in packs of three, and they are so cute, and practical, purse size�she loved it! LOVED IT! Gave me a big hug.

Today�s a giving day.

V. gave D. her own present too. It�s up to us as individuals now, since we can�t all agree on giving as a group. She gave her a foot massage kit thing, with roller, toenail polish, foot cream, a buffer, or sandpaper thing, I don�t know, a loofah-ish thing too, all in a see-through plastic bag with gold trim, zipper closure. It was nice. And a cake from the group, we can do cake. We always do cake. And the Manager (M) baked a cake this morning. I went for the store-bought, on account of it�s German Chocolate, and I LOVE German Chocolate. OMIGOD, I was eating, and groaning, and eating and groaning�it was good.

Yeah, it�s 11:37 and I�ve had nothing to eat but German Chocolate cake. This is a good day, so far.

Last night I watched �Temptation Island 2�, and let�s insert a rhyming Whoo, and a Hoo, too, right about here. I love that show. Talk about watching �regular� people make jackasses out of themselves on National Television, oh, it�s the ultimate. Really. One woman wants out already. She is consumed with jealousy, can�t stand the idea of her boyfriend enjoying himself with another woman. It�s all she can think about, to the point that she can�t enjoy herself with any one of the hunky men just waiting to feed her grapes or rub her feet, or, well, no doubt ANYTHING she desires. Nope. She wants her Tony, NOW!

Funny, funny show. Better than a �CSI� rerun. Why are there reruns so soon? Sweeps is over already? Egad.

Tonight�s the big Lilly Birthday Party Extravaganza Take 3, and I am dreading it. Sorry, I am. I love Lilly, really do, but her mom is no longer a favorite of mine. I�ve done a lot of analyzing of our relationship and I�ve come to some not so pleasant conclusions. I�m over her. This birthday party thing will be obscene, the child will get WAY too many gifts, not know the value of receiving, or the generosity of giving, and these are lessons which can be learned early, but this will be a human who has known nothing but having. Having everything. And this is repulsive to me.

I�ll be adding to it though, with my gifts, but I want her to know they�re from me. Want to give them to her before everyone else, before the gift opening orgy, want her to know ME, and that we have always known each other, since the day after her birth. I don�t want her to forget me, and surely that is selfish, but right now I feel she has no sentimental attachments to people or things, and I hope that is not always the case.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee