Saturday, Jul. 19, 2003 / 3:31 p.m.

~I'm Still Tired~

By my calculations, I slept approximately 15 hours between last night and today. I must have been really tired, right? I know I can't sit to eat a lot of food, even if it is just smoked salmon with hardboiled egg and red onion and cream cheese on crackers, which might sound weird, but was very good and incredibly filling and flavorful, and then watch a movie, on a week night, without falling asleep. Especially if the sitting morphs into lying. Sure, I'll just lie down and watch "Night of the Hunter", the TCM dude says this is a really good and suspenseful film, and I've somehow never seen it before, and okay, no, wait, I'm going to fall asleep, might as well just close my eyes right now...

I realized I'd missed it, switched to Letterman, fell back to sleep, woke to Martha, then slept more, and more, and finally got up around 6:30, or maybe 5:30, yes, that's it, and went to my computer, which was still on, and somehow clicked on the list of people who link to me here at Diaryland, saw someone took me off her list, and went a little crazy just trying to figure out who it was. I cared, I didn't care, I just wanted to know who. I think I have it figured out, and if I'm right, it was nothing I said, nothing I wrote, it was something she's going through. If I'm wrong, well, it won't be the first time I've offended someone.

Really, I wish Andrew could clean up that list. Two of those people are really one, and that person is now dead, and several more, down at the bottom of that list, are people whose diaries have been dead for months, if not a year or longer. I wrote to him once to ask about it, how about deleting someone's buddy list if you delete his/her diary?, but he never wrote back. So, that was weird, and I'm fine with it, in the long run it makes no difference, but at 6:something in the morning, after sleeping on the sofa, it's disconcerting.

Then I slept all day, really. I woke up a few times, flipped sides, like I was a burger being fried on a griddle, or a strip of bacon being cooked over a really low flame, and slept and slept and slept, and dreamed a good bit as well. Those dreams are gone right now, but they'll seep into my consciousness later, I have no doubt. Probably in sudden flashes of seepage. Like maybe when it rains really hard and what should've been a slow leak is suddenly a deluge.

No, I don't know what I'm talking about either.

The ants that were crawling all about the cats' food, the ones transported to the jar with the screw top lid, are apparently dead now, suffocated, and I'm sorry for that, and I'm sorry for the ones I squished when I saw them crawling all pell-mell on the bag the other night, but I don't want ants in my closet, much less in the cats' food in a bag in my closet. We will make the trip to Pet Smart, er, I will, soon, and get a new bag, and a specially designed large container with screw lid, or something similar.

Yesterday, knowing Q's fear of all creepy crawly things, I told her about the ants, and at the end of the day she asked what I was going to do. I told her about the squishing incident, about how the others were in the jar now, dying a slow and agonizing death, their cries of pain and anguish drowned out by said lid that screws, and she asked how they got in the closet in the first place.

I said it's like this, they send up a scout, from outside, and yeah it's on the second floor, but they don't tire easily, so they send the one ant dude up, and he comes in under the window, crawls around, smells the food, sees me get it from the closet and put it back, sees how I don't pay much attention to rolling over the bag top before I clip it with the Cheetos Cheetah chip clip anymore, and he dives into the bag, after crawling up and under of course, and gets lost in there. They send up another scout who hears the first one screaming, "Hey, get me outta here! But have some of THIS first! It's Grrreat!", and then that scout tells everyone else to head on up, and they come, all single file and stuff, because that's how they are, real orderly and businesslike.

And she does the "Wizard of Oz", "Oh we oh, Ohhh oh!" thing, imitating them, and it's funny because I just saw that movie Monday at the Fox, and I came in the next day doing that, and singing my favorite songs from the movie, and saying, "Run, Toto, Run!" a lot. And we laugh.

And the ants are no longer visible in the jar, and I told N and G I hope they don't mind eating dead ants with their food, how it's probably better than eating live ants, and a lot of people eat ants, and they're just cats, so it shoudn't matter too much, right?

Right.

LiveWeatherBug says it's 88 degrees. I'm guessing it's 1 million, 7 hundred 62 thousand degrees in my car, so I'm reluctant to head out anywhere, though I want to see "The Eye", we know this, and I need to go to the store, and etc. I've pulled some frozen ground beef (organic good stuff from the Farmer's/Whole Foods Market) from the freezer, and as soon as it is defrosted in the fridge I intend to cook it in a Bolognese sauce, using a recipe from a cookbook I once used all the time, years, and years ago. I remember this recipe being so very good, with milk, white wine, celery, carrot, thyme, etc., etc., tomatoes, of course, so we'll see. It requires I go to the store, but as I say, it's the car thing, hot in the car thing.

This is my day. Oh, I cranked up the old computer to get some files, seeing as how I have yet to go buy a serial cable to do the official file transfer thingie, and it was bittersweet. I miss it. It's like home to be on it again, just to the see the Webshots image there on the desktop, and think about all the files there that aren't here, and how tedious it is to put them on small disks. Must do transfer. Must. Along with all the other musts. Ah, tell me there's time?

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee