Monday, Feb. 25, 2002 / 1:21 p.m.

~The Replacements~

Not to worry, I survived the eating of the so clearly poisoned Lean Cuisine! It was really good too! I mistakenly referred to it as "Basil Chicken With Linguini", but it's definitely Angel Hair pasta, with bell peppers, red and yellow. The chicken is breast, with a creamy basil sauce. Yummy. As I said, it looked okay, so I went with it. You know, no visible frozen spit or excrement or insect or rodent, whole or otherwise. Just Cuisine. Lean, at that.

Boy, the Closing Ceremonies were cheesy, weren't they? I'm sorry, but I hated Mary what's her name talking while Diane Reeves was singing, that was just wrong. And I hardly watched the rest, it was just stupid, most of it, or maybe it was just me, and my mood, and my interest in finishing Bfee's diary, which I finally did. Some 200 plus entries, in three days. Almost a whole year of her life�what she would have us/me know, that is. Very, very interesting, more interesting than the Closing Ceremonies, definitely.

And when Moby finally took the stage, it was almost over, they barely showed him at all, there was no closeup that I saw, and the song sucked�or so I thought. God, I hope that's not off his new album!

So, here I am at work, lunchtime is soon, thank god, and things are relatively calm, slow, boring. Kukla is back from Hawaii, and she brought me a fridge magnet, as I'd asked her to do. I love it! It's a little lady (or a drag queen) pineapple, with lots of lipstick on her big lips, a lei around her neck, a grass skirt, sunglasses, and she's clearly doing a Hula dance. At the bottom it says "Hawaii". Perfect. Just what I wanted, if not more. I have a HUGE collection of fridge magnets, if I've not mentioned it before. My fridge is covered and I've recently expanded to the dishwasher - that's not to mention the filing cabinet in my bedroom�

Anyway, I had a dream this morning in which I was with her in Hawaii, and she was very nonchalant as I gawked at the beautiful sea (which truthfully looked to be more Caribbean than Pacific Ocean), and tried to find the perfect wine in some gift shop. Strange dream, can't even remember it that well.

She is black now, really, really BLACK. It looks so different. The color. First thing I said to her, after seeing the magnet left on my desk, rushing over to give her a hug, was, "Wow, you're a different color!". It makes me feel much better to know that her mother said the same thing when she saw her at home this weekend, post-Hawaii. Funny, huh? Kukla says her mom wants her to hurry up and go back to her original color, so I said, "Hah! And people think I'm too white! That I need a tan�they think you're too dark now. No one is ever satisfied."

We have two new temps today. The two white temps appear to be gone. Appear. We never know, no one tells us, but hey, they were white, one was really uppity, too smart to be here, they were really young, like 21, 22, they're best friends, they work as bartenders at a local bar, they were just temping here, for extra cash, I guess. And the uppity, smart one�well, I think she was maybe, just maybe a bit insubordinate, rightly so, but well, you know.

She said, "You know what I'm sayin'?" all the time. It was annoying, yet endearing. I wish them luck. The other was impossibly cute. Hell, they were both cute, tall, lanky, long blonde hair, they looked a lot alike. The black women would often get them confused, you know, because us white folks can tend to look a lot alike, You know what I'm sayin'?

Here's the great part though, this is rich, when they replaced Rasta they brought in another guy, African American of course. Lose one, gain another. When the two white, excuse me, European American, girls, excuse me, young women, left, assuming they're really gone�they replaced them with two other European American women, totally different, not young, not cute and lanky, not tall with long blonde hair, but this is funny too, they're both blonde!

Coincidence? Hmmm�

(And you thought this was going to be a musical entry, didn't you? Don't get me wrong, oh no, I love The Replacements - we'll save a discussion of their music for another entry.)

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee