Saturday, Jan. 22, 2005 / 6:21 p.m.

~For Lack of Adequate Writing Topic~

It felt like time to write here, but I had nothing specific to write about, exactly (which 'specific' covers, but I want to strenghten my point), so I did a web search for writing topics and ended up on a site for school kids. One of the topics for grades 9-12 was 'I admit it, I like wrestling'.

Should I go with that?

You know I always want to start like this:

"I had a fahhhhhm in Ahhhhfreeekaaaa", and I have no idea why. Maybe it's the same reason I think the same thoughts upon performing certain functions, or routine tasks, like when I enter a stall in the bathroom at work. I think, "So, are you okay, is everything okay?", maybe because it's quiet in there, it's solitary, and I could clear my head and focus if need be.

Or when I'm removing the paper stuffed under the floater arm in my toilet tank so I can flush. I think, "I only do this a couple times a day", as if I'm explaining it to someone who would ask, "What the HELL are you doing?"

But really, it would be easier to simply describe the current moment. I'm listening to The Smiths on my Winamp player - I've been listening to my entire playlist, played randomly of course, for hours now. The washing machine is washing my clothes, the dryer is busily drying others as well.

Which makes me think of that new Kenmore commercial, for that washer/dryer set in fabulous new colors, and why not? Remember the '70s? Remember avocado-colored appliances? That is my washer/dryer set. Avocado, and why not, really? Why not purple? Sage? Saffron? Burgundy, Ochre, Blood red? When did we stray, when did we decide it should all be white, black, gray, silver? Boring.

I want those new Kenmore appliances. Bad.

The lights have been on in the bathroom all day. I'm thinking of going in there, having a bath, shaving all sorts of hair from my body, but since that would be a chore, and involve getting wet, and this is easier, this being in front of the computer, writing, reading, listening to music coming out of it, well, the choice is obvious. But I leave the lights on, like turning them off would be worse, because then I'd only need to turn them back on.

Should I be writing about wrestling instead?

I did make it out to dinner last night, and I didn't have to go alone, but I wish I had been alone. Let's just say... the food was really good! I tried a Chinese place I'd been wanting to, and that was good, and it's not that terribly far away, and maybe I could order their takeout some time, in the summer, when it woudn't be totally cold by the time I'd get it home.

In fact, I just ate leftovers, Chinese vegetarian Ma Po Tofu, and yes, it could have used some pork. See, this is why I cannot be a vegetarian, meat is just so good!

Oh, speaking of, there is a special shopping day at Whole Foods on Tuesday - they are donating 5% of all proceeds to a new foundation they're creating, some Animal Compassion Foundation or some such. So, do all your shopping then, kids. It's to educate and inform, and work with farmers and animal husbandrists, or whatever they're called, all about treating the animals a little less like food, and more like actual living breathing animals. Not that killing is ever terribly humane, but factory farming is an abomination, purely and simply.

If half the people in this country could see where the food all packaged and pretty in the grocery store actually comes from, they'd swear off meat completely, oh yes.

The dryer is buzzing, the avocado dryer...

Really, I think that's all I have. It's a slow day here in my part of the world. It's cold and windy outside, but at least there is no snow, and I am warm and cozy, for the most part, and though I leave the lights on too often, I do try to conserve, and keep in mind I only flush a couple times a day.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee