Saturday, Apr. 05, 2003 / 11:34 p.m.

~We Held Up Traffic On a Saturday!~

Such a good day. So good I'm not even going to engage in debate with 'Korn' (at least he left his email address, but I don't know if it's valid), the person who wanted to let me know how he feels about my feelings, in my guestbook.

I hung out with antiwar protesters today! It was SO great! I talked to people about my experience with Jeff, at work, and the article I read today about historical artifacts in Iraq being destroyed, and all the articles I've been reading online, and I met some people who live out in my county, even farther north than I live (they're having a march/rally in two weeks), and I went to dinner with Sandy, and it was just really, really great.

It was a day in which I just did everything I planned, or nearly everything, and it all went so smoothly. I should be knocking wood or something. The weather cleared, the rain was apparently only early this morning, the sun shone, the sky was blue, the clouds were few and far between, the air was fresh and good and warm. I passed my emissions inspection (or, my car passed), thanks to the same guy as last year, and yes, he is Mexican, I asked. He ran the high speed test twice because of some issue with the RPMs in 2nd gear on the way up. I have no idea what he was talking about, but he assured me that it's really rare for a Toyota or Honda to fail an emissions test. He said the American cars tend to fail.

Whoo hoo!!! I was so happy. Another year, one year at a time.

I got cat food, no toys though, too expensive (I keep thinking I can make something as good, why should I pay $7 for a stick with a feather on it?), and drove around a bit. Saw the aftermath of some two or three car accident, and on my way back saw another fender bender right next to it (must've been people not paying attention to the traffic as they turned to look at the accident - smart).

Then I came home to put on my antiwar t-shirt and went to the march. Saw Anna and Guenter, who were quite cold to me, and I really have no idea why. Really. But they rode bicycles and didn't march. I held one end of a banner and we sang and marched, slowly, about a mile and a half, through one of the most beautiful intown neighborhoods, the heart of Midtown, police blocking traffic for us as we marched in the streets! They held up traffic on one of the main roads, on a fucking Saturday! While we sang old protest/spiritual songs from the '60s.

We were a mix of young college students and seasoned protestors, many in their 50s and 60s. A few little kids too, and one girl, maybe 13, reading a paperback as she walked. People on the sidewalks told us, "We agree with you!", and we cheered and flashed peace signs, or they jeered, held their thumbs pointed down. One man ran after us, with a little baby in his arms, yelling at us, while his wife did both thumbs down gestures, repeatedly. I couldn't hear what he was saying, but it made us all really nervous the way he ran with the baby to follow us.

We were SO peaceful, so gentle. And when one shouting match appeared to be getting ugly, we had a coach on the edge getting us to chant, "Support our troops, bring them home!", so we'd appear more mainstream, not hostile or leftist, but as the caring citizens we are. I'm not sure how comfortable I was with that, but it seemed really nice. He's (the coach) also the one who started the event by passing out American flags. I politely declined.

I don't know who he was, but his kid was with him, and we had a preacher who sang beautifully, led us on the spirituals. People leafletted too, recruiting bystanders to visit the local group web sites, etc. And to try to get people to go to D.C. next weekend.

Beautiful day, beautiful neighborhood, past shops and restaurants, everything coming to a complete halt as police blocked all roads to let us pass. Amazing. Flowers in full bloom, helicopter overhead, and only occasional 'bird flipping', or thumbs down. Not bad at all. We were maybe 150, maybe 200, a small crowd, but we sang loud and proud. A really great experience.

Of course Sandy was there, and he carried a banner for his group. We had a candlelight vigil at the end too, at a beautiful little park, and the whole point was to honor Dr King, on the anniversary of his assassination (yesterday was the day), to express our stand of nonviolence. Nice, just really, really nice.

Lots of talk on the walk back, along the sidewalk, with strangers who listen to Pacifica radio, and we talked NPR and web sites, and information, and reaction from friends. I think of all the people I talked to I've had the worst experiences discussing my views. The most negative feedback, such as from people at work.

But finally Sandy and I talked, and we went out for Thai, not to my favorite Thai restaurant, and I know why it's my favorite, it really is superior, but to a place he likes, and he treated. I wasn't going to tell him tomorrow is my birthday, because I knew he'd treat then, and I wanted to pay my own way, but he brought up age, and asked again how old I am... so it sort of came up. We had so much to talk about, mostly antiwar, but I told him all about "Irreversible", mostly because we passed the theatre where it's showing, and he wants to see it. I got chills talking about it!

That's it. N and G had their supper, and N's passed out on the rug now. She wanted to sit on my lap while I watched TV, but I had to come here to check some email and I got the guestbook comment and had to check the person's IP address, etc., see how he got to my diary. I know the stand, "If you don't like it, you should leave the country!" Well, this is my country. I pay taxes, I'm a citizen, this land is your land, this land is my land. Why should I have to leave? "Well, those people fighting now fought for you to have the freedoms you have" Attacking and occupying a country is not a fight for my freedom. I thought George Bush was saying this was for the freedom of the Iraqis. Get it straight.

I find the pro-war argument makes less sense every time I hear it. Besides, it tends to shift focus a lot.

But I was telling Sandy we've got to concentrate on the election now. We've got to find a candidate we can stand behind and make sure to get him elected. We must move forward.

Ahhh..... I just had such a good time today. I was thinking that worrying about the emissions was worth it just to experience the feeling I felt when I passed. It's like lows are worth the subsequent highs. As long as there is that balance. And the march was something I wanted to do, but it's so hard to drag myself out on a weekend. With the weather as beautiful as it was, I couldn't resist, and it was great to see so many familiar faces, and some new ones, meet new people, and solidify some plans. And a free dinner in honor of my birthday is nice too.

Almost forgot, I got home in time to see the first semi-final of the battle of the Iron Chefs! Chen made Ma Po Tofu! My favorite. See? No peas or carrots, no sugary syrupy sauce, just real authentic Szechuan cuisine. I wish I could've tasted it - it's supposedly his 'signature' dish... mmmmmmm.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee