Thursday, Feb. 27, 2003 / 1:23 p.m.

~$95 BILLION for WAR? - What About Cancer Research?~

Goodbye, Mr Rogers. It was always a beautiful day in your neighborhood, and even though you wore those goofy cardigans and sweater vests and I always wondered if you were gay, not that it mattered, and I never really watched one of your shows beginning to end, you touched a lot of little hearts and you'll be missed.

Mr Rogers is dead, of cancer, at age 74. And more people have cancer and are dying of cancer, millions in fact. My mother, my father, my grandmother, my grandfather, probably my uncle (and I wouldn't be surprised if my brother, and even I), all died of cancer. Yet this country is about to spend at least $95 Billion on a 'pre-emptive strike'. Can you even digest that amount of money? And what it COULD be used for? I've been close to cancer, but others are touched by AIDS, or spinal cord injuries, or autism, or Alzheimer's, or any other number of diseases.

We need help in this country, for our people, the people who pay the taxes that fund propositions like this WAR.

"It's a beautiful day in the neighborhood, a beautiful day for a neighbor.... would you be mine..... could you be mine.... Would YOU be my neighbor?" No, you sweatered freak!

Just kidding. RIP, Mr Rogers.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee