Saturday, Mar. 15, 2003 / 3:38 p.m.

~(less than) Half the Story, All the Time~

C-SPAN just spent the past three hours covering the Rally in D.C. (which was excellent and inspiring, as always, but I noticed NO celebrities this time - perhaps they are in L.A. today, marching there), yet I turn on CNN Headline to see their top stories and they show a demonstration in Cairo, say that Hussein bused in people to make it big, and the second story was of a Pro-War Rally ACROSS THE FUCKING STREET FROM CNN HEADQUARTERS, but they neglect to mention that crucial geographical fact, only that the Pro-War people feel they're not getting coverage.

Who's payroll are you on, CNN? Why not mention that the rally is across the street?????

And NO mention of hundreds of thousands marching this VERY MINUTE towards the WHITE HOUSE in a demonstration of patriotic passion for PEACE?

Unbelievable, truly.

I had a dream the other night about American Proganda. I was watching something, maybe television news, maybe not, with someone, don't know who, and I said, much to this other person's chagrin and surprise, "That's simply American Propaganda, you don't see that? It's obvious."

But this morning I dreamed my house dream, about the house I lived in as a teenager, the one with so much influence, so much dream cachet, and in the dream I explained to a delivery person that I didn't actually 'live' there, I only come and go. I said we keep the house in the family so we have a place to meet. It's our meeting place.

And I awoke, right from that moment, as if in on some subconscious cue, and thought, That's it, that's why I keep it in my dream catalog, because it's where 'we' meet. My family.

I'm so angry about the lack of coverage of this huge Demonstration today. I really am. To get back on topic. Now that the C-SPAN coverage has ended, that the Rally has concluded, there is NOTHING anywhere. Just speculation about the 'ordeal' of the girl who was kidnapped, as if she is the only story. Not that her story is not important, but can't we have perspective?

The man I met last weekend, the producer from CNN, said there can be no objectivity in news reporting because there must be a choice of what news to cover. As soon as you make those choices, you lose your objectivity.

True, but with 24 hour news channels we should be seeing ALL of it, you know? In a half hour national broadcast, sure, right, I get that, but do we need 24 hours of Sniper coverage? 24 hours of a kidnapped little girl? What about the torture of detainees? What about militaristic coups in Central America? What about a demonstration in Mexico City, Mexican citizens opposed to their government's support of the US War Machine?

Can't we see it ALL if you're going to be on ALL THE TIME?

The little girl is home. She suffered, she has been found, she has much recovery to endure now, much de-programming, can we leave her alone now, please?

Can we show what's really going on, everywhere, not just in this country, and can we please show some humanity and not slant everything in such a xenophobic and provincial fearsome manner? It's a big world out there and we are all people.

I'm craving news right now, real news. I wish I had a faster computer. I'm going to look for news online, that's the only place to find it. Perhaps the BBC World News later.

**Oh, and "T", yes, "Peace is better!", but must you click on http://greytanit.signmyguestbook.com to read my diary 10 or more times a day? Do you know how to 'bookmark' a site? Or 'add to favorites'? Or are you just persistently fucking with me? Are you really in Japan? What is your fascination with this page?

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee