Sunday, Sept. 02, 2007 / 3:42 p.m.

~Norma Kamali - 03/29/90 - 08/29/07 - a photo tribute - originally cross-posted 08/30/07~

I hope the fashion designer also named Norma Kamali is not somehow offended by this little remembrance, but this is for my girl, my best friend of seventeen years, my Normalou, my Normaloubelle, my Norm Chomsky, my Pasi Nurminen, my Norman Schwartzkopf, my Norm Alaska, my Norma Kamali, my sweet sweet Norman girl, my light, my love, my constant companion, my girlfriend, and lastly, my cat:

You are my Norma, my only Norma, you make me happy when skies are gray, you'll never know, Norma, how much I love you... please don't take my Norma away.

Norma fell to a lasting sleep in my arms last night at the Emergency Clinic, critically ill and suffering. I made the hardest decision of my life, to put an end to her life, to lose my girl forever, to end the caregiving which had been so all consuming. She is removed from earthly suffering, and yet removed from earthly joys, and I, and my other best friend Gladys Kravitz (sixteen years of age and doing well), miss her so terribly. I, for one, am barely able to put one foot in front of the other, but this shall pass, and life shall go on, as it is known to do.

Norma, I love you, I miss you, I wanted you to live forever, and I would have done almost anything to make it so, but I could not see you suffer. Love, love, love, love you, more than you will ever know.


My girl, when she was new to me.


One of many self portraits to which I subjected dear Norma.


This one I shot on the Vernal Equinox, 2005


Another humiliating self-portrait - what a sport she was!


This is when Norma still sang to me.


And this is her, "I'm not IN the kitchen!" position - I miss the days when I had to kick her out while I cooked.


Norma slept a lot in the last few months, especially with her friend Gladys.


Here they are together when they were both very young and had their whole lives ahead of them - it's a long row to hoe, or some such.


On the electric blanket this past winter - I guess Gladys will just have to stick her head against my butt from now on. It's not as fluffy, but it might suffice.


This picture blows me away - I can't even remember when she looked like this, a full mane, and a full body. This must have been in the late '90s. She was such a beautiful girl.


I think she was about to sneeze here, but I can't remember.


Norma always kept me company in the bathroom as I got ready for work. Always. I am going to miss that so much.


I think Norma was already declining when this was taken - some time early this summer, I suppose.

This is Norma trying to eat my Tofu Vegetable Soup - if for one more moment of me telling her, "No, Norman, you canNOT eat my food!" - if.



This is actually a lot how she looked last night, as she went to sleep forever. Poor old girl - I hope she is at peace now.


There are so many more photos of her, on my computer, on paper, in albums, but this is just a small remembrance, something to help me get through this day, to be able to keep her here, with me, as always she will be in my heart and soul.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee