Tuesday, Jun. 27, 2006 / 11:18 p.m.

~A Few Things, For Now~

Quick shoutout: Hi, Randy. I can't believe you still read this diary, seriously. Yikes. Two dates and you never moved on and away? I mean, surely you moved on and away, but you still check to see if I'm going to write anything else here. I do wonder why. Most men I date and never see again I never see again, not in writing, not anywhere. That's the end of that.

The Interweb is a strange place.

I have a new computer, an old computer that is new to me, and the price was right: Free! However, it needs to have my data from the old PC installed on it, and this is proving too complicated for me to wrap my brain around. The old PC has so many issues and missing functions, malfunctioning functions, that I can't get it done without major thinking and configuring. Oy.

Meanwhile, I have a new digicam, an old digicam that is new to me (gawd, have I ever had anything new, ever?, and does it matter?), and I am learning how to use it. I think it even has a zoom. One day I shall take it out and about and pretend I am a creative person after all.

I also have an illness, one that is treatable, but I am pretending I don't have it, because I didn't like the doctor who told me I have it. Or, rather, I didn't like the way her office treats patients, and the way she tried to prescribe me a medication before she met me. Head firmly planted in sand. A whole dune of sand.

Cats are okay, one better than the other. New job, which is bordering on old job by now, still sucks aplenty, but it pays well. I can't believe the minimum wage is still just over five dollars an hour. How sick is that? And why does 'sick' have to mean amazing and wonderful? It means awful and horrid. And that's how I meant it to mean.

I feel exhausted. But see, I don't know if I feel exhausted because I know it's a symptom, or if I really am exhausted. I can't tell if I started being exhausted when I became 'diagnosed', or if I was exhausted before that. What if I were to take a placebo? Would I feel better?

I am also working on becoming a vegetarian. Problem is, I love meat. I am an omnivore who loves animals, and loves to eat them. This has always been hard, and I think I have been depressed since I saw a video that hit me hard and made me empathize a bit too much to stomach one more sausage biscuit. Ooooh, with honey! A McGriddle with sausage, egg and cheese. Oh my god, those things are so good! They're sick! No, wait, they're... right, both meanings there, they're sick. Pigs are intelligent and wonderful creatures. Is it right we raise them to kill them and eat their flesh?

What about lions eating zebras and wildebeests? We are not the only predators after all. I don't know, I am so conflicted. Is it wrong to eat animals, or only wrong to farm them like they are products in a factory?

Today on my lunch break I went to a bookstore and read parts of several different books on ethical eating, what to eat, becoming a vegetarian, nutrition, the slaughter of chickens. I ate some nuts, raisins and yogurt drops. One of those vending machine snack mix things, no salt added. A cereal bar later. Tofu for dinner. I don't think I'm doing this right. Too much planning is involved, and I am hungry.

Anyway, right, that's it. If you're looking to see if I've updated, yep, I did. Take care now.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee